Posted by: ronpurtee | February 14, 2008

You’ve had a bad day once, right?

DC Comics, when they aren’t shoving moronic storylines down our throat, has decided that they need to reissue one of the greatest comic storylines ever!

The classic Batman tale by Alan Moore and Brian Bolland returns in an all-new special edition! This edition – celebrating the 20th anniversary of the landmark work – features all-new coloring by Bolland, and includes the story “An Innocent Guy,” previously featured in BATMAN: BLACK AND WHITE!

Is DC just trying to cash in on the fact that a new Batman film is coming out featuring the Joker? or are they trying to give the kids what they want? Doesn’t matter to me, because this is THE Joker story. Anything else you have read is just second best.

It’s so good that Alan Moore has dis-owned it like all the rest of his titles that he works on. The true sign of greatness, total insanity.


Responses

  1. LOL – The true sign of greatness in any comic book story — Alan Moore disowning it! …Classic.

  2. Hi there!

    Like the Alan Moore. 🙂

    As far as DC just trying to hype the new Bat film…I think the sudden passing of Heath Ledger will pretty much do that work for them.

    I will admit that I was not thrilled about Ledger’s role of the Joker in the new Bat film, and this was more due to the fact of how the Joker would be portrayed rather than Ledgers acting talent.

    With Ledger’s passing, the new Bat film will become a summer blockbuster no matter what.

    As far as the re-issue of the ” Killing Joke “, this was and still is the Definitive Joker tale, bar none.

    I would have to see this special edition though to see if it is worth the purchase, but I will admit that I do not have this story anymore, but would like to have it again just to re-read it all again!

    Thanks for the post about this.

    I will be putting a link to your post on my blog.

    Lew Newmark
    http://www.fln50.com

  3. […] The post is here. […]

  4. Ha! Alan Moore disowning it being some sort of litmus test of greatness is classic. Works for me!

  5. I think you’re just afraid to party with a real man!

  6. […] You’ve had a bad day once, right? […]

  7. I remember when Alan Moore pulled the Watchmen action figures at the last minute from DC Direct a number of years ago… That didn’t sit well with all those fans who had been waiting almost 20 years for any kind of merchandise.

  8. […] we’ve started a conversation regarding Alan Moore with the re-issue of The Killing Joke, I thought I’d weigh in on how badass he is! You know his work: Watchmen, V for Vendetta, […]


Leave a comment

Categories